That Awkward Moment When…

Many people are familiar with the “that awkward moment when…” chain of phrases that  explain common life mistakes or everyday random failures that many people experience.

I have found that being able to laugh at them is what helps you learn from them.

I recently had an awkward moment that’s not so much funny as it is a complete fail. For my first post I stated my resolve to eliminate bias by not revealing anything about myself: race, age, gender…

However, my profile picture kind of makes it obvious I am female.

Yeah, a blunder that most probably didn’t notice, but I am persnickety.

Anyway, I digress.

These are some of the great ones that I found from the link above. (These are actually the earlier ones, I could not go through all 150+ pages)

Some are funny…

“That awkward moment when you are scuba diving and see Adele ‘Rolling in the Deep'”

“That awkward moment when a girl wears so much makeup it looks like she got into a fight with a box of Crayola. ”

Some are REALLY awkward…

“That awkward moment when you say goodbye to somebody and you are both walking the same way.”

“That awkward moment when you can’t stop laughing while telling a joke and when you are finally done, your friends don’t even get it.”

“The awkward moment when the dentist asks you a question with his hand in your mouth.”

And then some are fails…

“That awkward moment when the only thing you know on your test is your name and the date.” (Anyone else have date troubles too?)

“That fail moment when you fall UP the stairs.”

Some more of my own….

That awkward moment when you struggle to open a can and the person beside you whips theirs off like it’s no big deal.

That awkward moment when you wake up late and start throwing things on and then realize you have no where to go.

That awkward moment when you can no longer think of any awkward moments even though you know you have plenty!

I would love to hear your awkward moments! Scribble All! 

10 thoughts on “That Awkward Moment When…

  1. That awkward moment when you fall down the stairs… because you couldn’t put down a good book. (yup, it’s happened more than once)

  2. That akward moment when you argue vehmently about something and suddenly realise that what you are saying makes no sense!….This happens to me many times…..Great post btw.

  3. hahaha, oooo yea, that awkward moment when someone smiles at you from a distance at a big party (where you don’t know anyone, but still manage to get invited!) and you paste a grin on your face as you walk up to them thinking, “why can’t I remember who he is…. oh what the heck, at least he’s good looking and he seems to know me :D” but, of course, he whizzes past you to air-kiss the tall hottie in the backless number right behind you! Damn those model types! 😛

Make Some Scribbles

